Mack Brown wins Bobby Dodd Award

Nebraska v Texas

It was announced during halftime of the Chick-fil-A Bowl last night that Mack Brown has been awarded the Bobby Dodd Award.

According to the foundation:

The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award is to honor the Bowl Championship Series college football coach whose programs represent quality on and off the field.

The award consists of three components, Scholarship, Leadership and Integrity.

Said Bobby Dodd Foundation chairman Jim Terry:

Coach Brown has an outstanding reputation, and we respect his leadership on the field as well as the many accomplishments of the team in the classroom and in life. He definitely fulfills the stringent requirements set for the award.

The award is selected by a vote of past winners and a 16-member panel of former players and coaches. Past winners include Penn State’s Joe Paterno, Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops, Florida State’s Bobby Bowden, Kansas State’s Bill Snyder, and Ohio State’s Jim Tressel.

Congrats, Coach Brown! Now, get back to the Fiesta Bowl preparation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *