The Awards Begin for Colt McCoy (Walter Camp)

Texas v Colorado

Texas Longhorns quarterback Colt McCoy was award the Walter Camp Foundation player of the year award. In doing so, he beat out his Heisman co-finalists, Sam Bradford and Tim Tebow. He also beat out a couple of guys from Texas Tech, Graham Harrell and Michael Crabtree.

In many years, the Walter Camp is a Heisman indicator, but I don’t think it will be this year, unfortunately. The award is voted on by the coaches and sports information directors of the nation’s 119 Football Bowl Subdivision teams.

Said foundation president John Barbarotta:

Colt’s leadership and performance for the Longhorns’ offense, whether it was passing the ball or running it, has been most impressive and extremely worthy of this prestigious honor.

The only other Longhorn to win this award was Ricky Williams in 1998.

He’s also up for the Maxwell (Player of the Year) and O’Brien (Best Quarterback) this evening. They’re being awarded at ESPN’s College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Florida. I expect he’ll pick up one of the two.

2 Comments on “The Awards Begin for Colt McCoy (Walter Camp)

  1. Brian Combs

    The Davey O’Brien went to Bradford.

  2. Brian Combs

    And Tebow won the Maxwell Award.

    Maybe the big awards will split, giving Colt the Heisman. Not likely…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *