Brian Orakpo wins Hendricks for Best Defensive End

CFB: Oklahoma St vs Texas OCT 11

As expected, it was announced today that Texas Longhorn Brian Orakpo won the Hendricks Award for the best defensive end in the country. He adds this to the Bronko Nagurski which he won on Sunday.

Orakpo is the first Longhorn to win the Hendricks.

He is also up for the Lombardi Award, which is announced this evening. The Lombardi honors the nation’s top interior lineman or linebacker. He is up against Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis, Southern California linebacker Rey Maualuga and Alabama offensive lineman Andre Smith. I expect either Orakpo or Laurinaitis will win.

Orakpo is quickly climbing up draft predictions. Given the NFL’s love for D linemen with amazing physical stats, he could be a top three pick. If he has a good Fiesta Bowl, I wouldn’t be surprised to hear some “Number One Pick” talk starting next month.

1 Comment on “Brian Orakpo wins Hendricks for Best Defensive End

  1. Brian Combs

    Suzanne Halliburton is reporting that Orakpo did win the Lombardi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *